Interrogating Methodologies: Interrogating Boundaries in Art and Science

Friday, April 18, 2014 - Saturday, April 19, 2014
McCune Conference Room (6020 Humanities and Social Sciences Building)

James Elkins

Professor at Department of Art History, Theory, and Criticism

Department of Visual and Critical Studies

School of the Art Institute of Chicago


JoAnn Kuchera-Morin

Professor, Media Arts & Technology and Music, UCSB

Director of the Allosphere


Joel R. Primack

Distinguished Professor of Physics, UC Santa Cruz

Director, University of California systemwide High-

Performance Astro-Computing Center


Keith Clarke


Department of Geography, UCSB


B.S. Manjunath

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering Computer Science

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, UCSB and


Lisa Jevbratt

Professor of Media Art Technology

Department of Art, UCSB



Distinguished Professor, UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry

Department Director, UCLA

CNSI Nano & Pico Characterization

Core Facility Scientific Director, UCLA Art|Sci Center

Principal Investigator & Satellites Co-Director, WPI Center for

Materials NanoArchitectonics (MANA), NIMS, Japan


Jill Scott

Professor, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK Institut Cultural

Studies ICS Swiss artists-in-labs Programm


Rebecca Braslau

Professor,Physical & Biological Sciences

Chemistry & Biochemistry Department, UC Santa Cruz


Victoria Vesna


UCLA Department of Design | Media Arts


Marko Peljhan


Media Arts &Technology, UCSB


Virginia (Jill) Teige

College of Chemistry

UC Berkeley


Marcos Novak

Professor, Director of transLAB

Department Vice Chair at Media Arts and Technology, UCSB


David W Deamer

Research Professor at Physical & Biological Sciences

Chemistry & Biochemistry Department, UC Santa Cruz


Maria P

az Gutierrez

Assistant Professor of Architecture

College of Environmental Design, UC Berkeley


W.Patrick McCray

Professor of History, UCSB

PI Center for Nanotechnology in Society


David Gross

Professor of Physics

Department of Physics, UCSB

Permanent Member and holder of the Frederick W. Gluck Chair in

Theoretical Physics at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics

2004 Nobel Prize Winner in Physics


George Legrady

Professor, Director of the Experimental Visualization Lab,

Department Chair at Media Arts and Technology, UCSB


Ann Jensen Adams


Department of the History of Art and Architecture, UCSB


John Weber

Founding Director

Institute of the Arts and Sciences, UC Santa Cruz


Enrico J Ramirez-Ruiz

Professor of Physical & Biological Sciences

Astronomy & Astrophysics Department, UC Santa Cruz


Amy McCabe Heibel

Vice President, Technology, Web and Digital Media

LA County Museum of Art (LACMA)

 Art (LACMA)

This is a multi-disciplinary symposium comparing methodologies from the natural sciences, humanities, and the arts to interrogate research questions at the heart of research methods and practices.

The full conference schedule is available here.

Descriptions of speakers and their talks can be read here.